In most countries, fast food is becoming cheaper and more available. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

There is a controversial notion heating a debate over the development of fast food which becomes more and more affordable and accessible. While everything has its merits and demerits, I consider this phenomenon does more harm than good for society. It is evident that fast food is getting more preference from the customers because of its price and accessibility. One main reason for that is the food is produced on a mass scale and prepared beforehand, which costs consumers less waiting time with a lower budget for a full-stomach meal. In this fast-moving community where people treasure their time more than ever, fast food serves well the increasing need for a quick yet high-energy product to maintain the spirit of an effective working day. For example, instead of spending one hour in an exorbitantly expensive restaurant which lasts for most of the middle-day break, a meal at the McDonald’s will only cost workers 30 minutes, giving much room for them to have a quick sleep or relax time. Therefore, the progressive pattern in the fast- food intake line is indisputable given the contemporary context. However, there are still undesirably lingering impacts on health and family time which the growing fast food industry brings. Those in-a-minute meals are usually treated hours in advance and then is reheated when ordered, which leads to the overcooked ingredients that consist of hazardous substances for our physical bodies. Moreover, to keep the competitive price range compared to other food stalls and restaurants, many fast food stores have committed to the out-of-quality cooking material like rotten potatoes or dead chicken wings and covers them with harmful preservative chemicals, which breads the food -related diseases among buyers. Another disadvantage that is worth mentioning is that the quick meals are depriving the quality time spent with family and beloved members. The fast- food industry has provoked a new way of living where people taking their time spent with close people lightly. The gathering time including cooking dinner, talking at the table, and dishwashing which allows members to be closer is replaced by the fast meals. Consequently, a dense wall may grow vigorously between family members before they notice. To conclude, the developing pictures of fast food preference would wreak havoc not only on physical health but also in the invaluable bonds among people. In conclusion, while fast food is a lucrative business that results from the advantages in time -saving and reasonable prices, consumers should also take into account the unfavourable effects on health and quality time that this trend may come with.