Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

There are those who claim that the best way to uplift public health is through adding more sports facilities. However, others say that this would produce few effects on public fitness and that other alternatives are needed. This essay will discuss both views and state my own position. On the one hand, some populations believe that having a lot of sports comforts is the best way to improve public health. They think that the availability of these entertaining facilities will shift the attention of the crowd from doing drugs or other unhealthy vices to sports, which is also a form of exercise. In other cities, for instance, members of the local council in cooperation with the youth sector proposed the constitution of a gymnasium that was finished early last year. It became the venue for different events not only within our company but also in the neighbouring community. Since the construction of the sports facility, the local health station reported a significant decrease in clinic visits of the locals. On the other hand, other communities think sports facilities will have a little effect on public health and that other measures are needed. They believe that there are activities that are more effective and more important, health programs for example. For them, having an activity that everyone can participate in is more effective than building more sports facilities. Perhaps activities, like conducting a daily exercise or helping the local health department in locating ill people within the community, would be a greater help. As for my experience, I was once a volunteer in our health station wherein we do look for people in the community needing health attention and we refer them to the municipal health office for evaluation and treatment. In conclusion, I think both views are of great help in improving public health. We, the residents, to the best of our ability should cooperate and help our community leaders in improving public health.