Many large supermarkets are being built today while the number of small shops is decreasing. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In various countries around the world, the numbers of shopping malls are increasing compared to local groceries and other medium-size retailer shops. From my point of view, while there is a disadvantage that could result from this, the expected benefits are of greater significance. To begin with, the disadvantage of building multi-stories supermarkets is that it requires excessive amounts of funding. This has converted such type of business into a competitive field that applies higher standards in terms of employees, stores, facilities, and commodities. For instance, it is difficult for investors at the beginning stages to compete with such enterprises. Consequently, numerous individuals had lost interest in opening their own shops. Conversely, a number of advantages could be clearly seen as a consequence of building huge malls. Firstly, the consumers can find everything they looking for under one umbrella. In hypermarkets such as Lulu or Carrefour, for example, a customer can buy a various range of products such as groceries, clothing, stationaries, and even carpentry tools because it will save the buyers time and effort instead of searching in different places of their needs. In addition, large retailers are selling their products at cheaper prices, but this cannot be applicable to small business owners. They are mostly funded well and selling numerous products, and therefore, they always keep low profits on their items. Moreover, to control the storage facilities, big stores always tend to offer their customers yearly sale offers. As a result, consumers will logically convert to spend their money in such places. To conclude, investing in super hypermarkets has affected small shop owners, however, there is a number of advantages to customers such as time-saving and discounts offered by larger companies.