Under British and Australian laws a jury in a criminal case has no access to information about the defendant's past criminal record. This protects the person who is being accused of the crime. Some lawyers have suggested that this practice should be changed and that a jury should be given all the past facts before they reach their decision about the case. Do you agree or disagree?

In other to reach an unbiased judgement and ensure the protection of a defendant, British and Australian laws restrict a jury's access to the accused's records in a criminal case. However, several lawyers are proposing an amendment to this law so that a jury has rights to the defendants past criminal records. In my opinion, I agree with the proposal, a jury should be able to review a defendant's records before meting out their judgement. To begin with, concerning the argument about a biased judgement, this may be possible if the jury is an individual alone or if it comprises of only a particular gender, age group, race or religion. This however is not the case as a standard jury is diverse, with at least 10 or 12 qualified jurors of both genders and more than one age group who are required by the law to put aside their racial or religious differences during a trial. Therefore, it is unlikely that all members of the jury will become biased after viewing the defendant's records, or that the jury will give a verdict based on the bias of 2 or 3 jurors. Furthermore, I believe that for the appropriate verdict to be given, the nature of the offence in addition to whether or not the offender is a first -timer or a repeat offender should be taken into consideration. Since the case is a criminal case, it is likely that the crime in question may have caused death or harm to a third party, damage to property or the state and would require a heavy punishment. However, if the defendant is a first -timer, the punishment may be relatively lighter (all things being equal) than what a repeat offender will receive, and the jury needs to have this information in other to give the punishment of deserving weight. For instance, it will be inadequate and a bit unfair to ask a repeat shoplifter to simply pay a fine (which is more appropriate for a first -timer) when they deserve jail time. But this may be the case if the jury is kept in the dark with regards to the record. Also, looking through a defendant's record may bring to light certain things relating to the current case that otherwise may have been overlooked. For instance, after analyzing the defendants criminal record, it may become evident that they require some psychological or psychiatric intervention, based on the nature and pattern of the previous and current crimes. With this information, the verdict can be tailored to deliver not just judicatory punishment but also a solution to their mental health illness in form of rehabilitation, counselling or where necessary placed on appropriate medication. In conclusion, even though there may be concerns about a jury dishing out biased verdicts to defendants after going through their records, revealing these records indeed has more advantages as it makes room for not just the most appropriate weighted punishments, as in the case of repeat offenders, as well as factoring in other forms of help and rehabilitation for defendants who may need it.