In certain countries, Voting is compulsory. To what extent do you agree with this viewpoint?

One of the greatest dividends of Democracy is the right to vote and to be voted for. Hence, voting is the right of every free citizen in a Democratic state. However, the people are at liberty to vote or not, in many countries. This has brought about wastage and discrepancies in the process. As a result, I agree that voting should be made as compulsory as possible because complete compulsion can lead to the violation of rights. Firstly, to prevent wastage of the enormous amounts put into election campaigns and preparations. For instance, in places where it is not compulsory, the turnout of voters is usually very few for various unnecessary reasons. As such, there is an excess of materials unused and this is a huge loss of public funds. To this end, to prevent monies from going to waste, voting should be mandated. Secondly, to stop rigging of elections by political parties and their candidates. For example, in Africa where casting votes is not mandated the total number of votes is usually less than 50% of the citizens. Therefore, the rich and powerful parties have enough opportunities to give power to anyone they want. In all, to ensure a free and fair election and to truly empower the community's choice. Every hand needs to be on deck. To conclude, having discussed my opinion on the subject. Mandating votes are of great advantages and will allow for all to really use the government of the people, by the people to their advantage. Therefore, everyone needs to make it their life goal to partake.