More and more businesses as well individuals are choosing to communicate either professionally or socially using technology rather than being face to face. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages using technology for communication.

With the increase in technological advancement, it is seen that people choose to communicate over digital mediums like video calls, chats etc. instead of meeting physically. Usage of these digital mediums for communication, can have different merits and demerits on an individual. In my opinion, the use of technology for communication is beneficial, as it is not limited by the distance. Although, I also feel that, physical interactions are necessary as well. On the one hand, the use of technology for communication is beneficial as it helps to connect with anyone across the globe, also conducting professional meetings using digital mediums, results in less wastage of time on unnecessary activities. For example, today it is possible for people to work anywhere in the world. It is not required for an individual to go to the office to work. He can choose to work from home as well. Furthermore, a significant increase in the number of people working remotely is seen. On the other hand, this too posses some disadvantages and some adverse effects on the lives of people. With the increase in people using digital mediums for communication, it has been noted that people are afraid of speaking in public. This also increases the risk of health problems in an individual. For example, a person working from home is less likely to go out and hence, it results in weight gain due to lack of exercises and physical activities. To conclude, I believe there are both merits and demerits of using technology, but if used in a proper way, the merits outweigh the demerits and it proves to be beneficial to communicate using digital devices.