Nowadays we are producing more and more rubbish. Why do you think this is happening? What can governments do to help reduce the amount of rubbish produced? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In our world nowadays, landfills are packed with tons of wastes which represent a detrimental impact on the environment. This huge amount of rubbish refers to our excessive use of products that could be in most cases unnecessary. In my perspective, the authority has a prime role in addressing this problem as we will discuss. Undoubtedly, the urbanized areas worldwide produce huge amounts of refuse which require immense efforts to dispose of them. The main reason for this issue is consumerism which means the excessive use of not needed products. Without question, this phenomenon is caused mainly because of the advertising campaigns of global corporates which try to promote their products. Consequently, this plethora of advertisements that urge people to purchase has created a generation of impulsive buyers. As a result, our rubbish bins are full most time. The role of officials is central to addressing this pressing matter. Firstly, governments should implement rules to minimize the adverts in media. This could be achieved by dedicating a certain time every day in channels and any outlets to podcast the advertisements. Not only, we protect the public from these intrusive adverts, but also we save them from exposing to this addictive habit of unnecessary shopping. Secondly, authorities have to encourage people to recycle more in many ways through initiatives to raise the awareness of people to the importance of the recycling process. Furthermore, the local authority could make incentives to the people who recycle more through a reduction in their electricity bills for example. To conclude, the hills of garbage in many cities impose a significant threat to both humans and the environment. Governments should resolve this problem by decreasing the commercial campaigns in media. Additionally, we have to educate the public about this situation and entice them to recycle more.