Some students tend to travel after finishing school and spend time working somewhere instead of going to the university directly. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Students, these days, want to explore before they start higher education. So, some students are likely to get exposure by working somewhere instead of pursuing their degrees. In this essay, I will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this approach. There are several benefits of travelling and working before studying in universities. Students will learn about ground realities. In school, we mostly learn the theory part but the outside world is completely different and much more practical. Another benefit is that travel will give them exposure and having any practical knowledge will help them to grasp better in higher studies. For example, I studied computer science but I had no idea about programming so some hands-on coding language would have helped me in my college days. Despite several benefits, there are some drawbacks as well. If students explore for more than a year then this will be considered as an education gap which will lead to a negative impact when applying for a job. One of my friends was not able to explain his career gap and that’s the reason many big companies rejected him. Also, if the student is not matured and not supervised by parents then he/she might go in the wrong direction or choose a job that gives easy money and this will impact their career goals. I have seen students going in the wrong direction by working illegally. In conclusion, spending time and working somewhere before going to university has its own pros and cons. I believe students should spend time and work somewhere to get practical knowledge under the guidance of their parents.