Many people want their country to host an international sporting event. Others believe that international sporting events bring more problems than benefits. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Opinions are divided as to whether the global sporting events will bring more benefits than drawbacks to the host country. Despite the fact that there are some drawbacks of the event, I strongly believe that it brings about much more advantages to that nation. There are some reasons why I argue against that would be more beneficial. Firstly, an international sporting event such as the Olympics games, can interest investors to invest their funds into host country. This leads the economic system to grow rapidly and positively affects either governments or private companies. Secondly, there would be a variety of facilities and amenities improved dramatically, if some countries were collected to be the main host of the important event. For example, China which was been a host of Olympics games in the last few years has developed communal facilities throughout the country quickly. As a result, either population could gain benefits to be more comfortable and convenient living there. Conversely, it does not mean that there is no drawback of being a major nation to be responsible for sporting events. The social problems of the host country can be worse, especially in traffic congestion and overcrowding of city dwellers. Since being host, it is undeniable that countless foreigners will be coming to see the festival and travel across the capital, leading domestic populations to be frustrated and complain about the problems regarding the authorities. It could affect not only commuters but also students who have to arrive at school on time but facing traffic jams and crowding of people. For instance, if India was voted to be responsible for sports events, the situation of insoluble problems would be worse than it has been now. In conclusion, I can understand why some residents oppose their country to be a host of the global sports events, but it seems to me that it could be more beneficial than disadvantageous.