Some people think should give financial support to creative artists such as painters and musicians. Others believe that creative artist should be funded by alternative sources. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

Artists are a vital part of society as they represent the culture and values through their art. A chunk of individuals opines that it is a government responsibility to help artists financially whilst others are sceptical about it. I; however,agree with the former notion as only a few artists are earning well while others are struggling for basic necessities. To begin with, the only way to depict the past is through art. Art represents the culture and heritage also teaches juveniles about the glory and struggles of ancient times. Therefore, this gives them the motivation to be industrious and achieve their goals. For instance, schools in India teach children about the struggles of freedom fighters through art exhibitions and annual trips arranged to historical places so they can understand the value of independence. Moreover, in numerous metropolitan cities cultures are the main tourist attraction. For instance, authorities hired artists to build the sculpture of renowned personalities so that they can generate additional revenue through tourism. In addition,the sculptures act as landmarks that help the traveller to understand their location and save them from getting lost. Hence, artists are an imperative part of society that not only represent the culture through their art but also help society in many ways. On the other hand, funding artists in developing countries is a debatable issue. These countries were already struggling with other concerning social issues such as healthcare and education therefore it makes no sense to subside subsidise these artists. For instance, governments in these places need to tackle the important issues initially rather than wasting money on other sources. Moreover, the artist is a job like any other profession therefore they should earn their living by selling their art. In conclusion, I believe that art plays important role in teaching teenagers about culture and history, Therefore, government funding is inevitable for artists. However; this funding is only necessary if authorities have already solved other social issues such as lack of education.