Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a language. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Being multilingual is becoming a trend and even schools are teaching various languages other than their mother tongue. Many people believe that this is helpful for immigration only, while others think that its benefits are far more than easy immigration. This essay will discuss these viewpoints and why I think that its advantages are multifold. Certainly, If people immigrate to another nation have fluency in the native language, the communication gap will be the least. This is because people will be able to communicate properly with native speakers and hence, understand the culture and community. Canada, for example, invites people from all over the world with mandatory minimum English proficiency, which will make it easier for immigrants to mix up with the natives. Being fluent in another language has many more benefits than this. Learning multiple languages, also, will develop brain neurons to solve complicated problems. Learning a new language is difficult, as we are not doing it from our childhood. So, our brain has to create neuron connections, which in turn will increase our capabilities to tackle difficult problems. A recent study by the AIIMS, for instance, took students of the same age, showed that a bilingual person can solve Mathematics problems faster than a single language speaker. This showed that multilingualism has more benefits than the thought of. In conclusion, on the surface, it looks that multilingualism has only a purpose of travelling and working to other nations but research has presented its benefit more than this. In my view, it has many more contributions to us.