Some people think that recruiting companies should aim to take on people who are innovative and able to work independently while others consider they should recruit people who are able to work in a team and follow instructions. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Company recruitments are a challenging task because for every opening available there will be numerous applications, with each applicant offering a different skill to the role. Many people argue that organisations should consider candidates who can work independently, whilst others argue it is important to have team players and those who follow instructions. In this essay, we shall discuss both views. On one hand, having an independent worker is very useful because it helps when a firm has several projects in the pipeline and limited staff. If you have independent working staff, they will be able to handle the requirements of the project with minimal supervision, thus freeing up the remaining team to work on alternate projects. In addition, because through this independence they become more trustworthy and thereby rise in the business. For example, in the last company, where I was working, there were instances where although I was a Senior member in the business, I had to act as a team lead on my own. When the enterprise realised that I rose to the challenge, they requested me to move to an alternate city for a month to help set up a new account in the city. Alternately, many corporations prefer a team player and someone who can follow orders, because it helps smoothen the process. Many people working for one cause, means that each individual is responsible for a particular part of the work, which will help keep the team stress free, but the trade-off is that they require supervision to see if the job done fits the request. So, to conclude, in my opinion, I feel both characteristics are indispensable for a candidate from the view of a corporation, and that they should encourage their employees to develop such skills.