Small businesses should avoid recruiting young woman who do not have their own family in order to avoid paying maternity leave later on. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Whether a company should hire young unmarried women is under public debate. Some argue, that from a company point of view, it will result in the organisation having to spend tons of money for their maternity leave, whilst others argue from a moral point of view, that a business cannot subjectify a woman. I disagree with this notion and will substantiate my reasoning in the course of this essay. On one hand, when hiring a woman, there is always the possibility that she will one day have to go on maternity leave. So, from a company's point of view, they will have to shell out 9 month's salaries, for an employee who has no such productivity during this period. When looking from this angle, it is not beneficial, because this eats away at the firm's budget, whilst not generating any returns for a company, and it also harms their future goals, because if they have plans to branch out or hire more technically qualified staff, they will not be able to. On the other hand, not hiring a woman on the basis that she may one day require maternity leave is immoral. An individual must be selected for a job, based on the skills they can bring to the table. Not hiring a woman on this basis, is equivalent to harassment, which could cause the company further financial difficulties for a company. In conclusion, job vacancies need to be provided to every individual, and everyone as long as they meet the skill requirement must have an equal and fair opportunity to apply for such chances and it's the responsibility of every company to vet these applicants fairly.