Public celebrations (national days, festivals) are held in many countries. Some people say that these celebrations are a waste of money and we should spend money on more important things. Do you agree or disagree?

Public celebrations, which are held in many countries, seem to be allocated much money. Therefore, some people consider that governments shoud concentrate their expenditure on more important things. However, there are some reasons why I strongly disagree with this point of view. One of the main benefits about big celebrations is boosting the economy. The fascination of those special days attracts visitors from other places, even other countries. As a consequence, demands on services that come with tourism occurring such as hotel, restaurant and souvenir, increase. That means local people get opportunities to earn a fortune. For example, Buon Ma Thuot Coffee festival is taken place each two years in Daklak province - a high land of Vietnam, not only interests thousands of tourists but also gather a large sum of enterprises to join. Another point to be considered is spiritual values. People would like to enjoy happy times, or experience national cultures through public celebrations. This can be seen at Hue festivals which has a variety of traditional activities. Especially Aodai performance, in which models represent hundreds of types of aodai ao dai, a traditional clothing of Vietnamese. Obviously, the spiritual values are as much important as other material things. In conclusion, the money needed to celebrate festivals is quite expensive, but having said that they are worth every penny for both economy and spiritual values.