Museums and art galleries should concentrate on works that show the history and culture of their own country rather than works of the other parts in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Opinions are still divided over what museums and art galleries should exhibit to the public. Some people opine that these places should place a heavy emphasis on a rtifacts, relics and works of arts reflecting one’s own country and neglect works from other nations. I personally disagree with this notion. There is no denying that featuring works of one’s own culture and history could be a great way of promoting these values to people from different parts of the world. For one, museums and art galleries with national works of art might attract tourists worldwide, especially those aspiring to learn more about alien cultures. This could impart our cultural values and histories to foreigners. Should foreign visitors cease to witness works with distinctive features of a country, they are likely to be disappointed and lose interest in coming to a country. Furthermore, the display of national works could i nstill in the locals a sense of appreciation for their country since they are afforded with much more sophisticated understandings a bout their identities. The National m useum of Vietnam is a good example. By exhibiting pictures showing the struggles of Vietnamese soldiers in the fight against the American war and the French colony, the public treasure this nation more and are apt to protect the country they have today. Therefore, focusing on national works of art may help museums and art galleries educate both foreigners and the locals. Nevertheless, relics and works from other nations could not be discounted altogether. In fact, dispensing with these works would render an exhibition tedious and monotonous over time, after visitors are all familiar with their own country ’s works. Introducing foreign a rtifacts and relics, as a result, brings a sense of novelty to the masses and maintain the attractiveness of museums and art galleries. More importantly, the adoption of numerous works from different origins is likely to provide a more comprehensive understanding for the public. This is predicated on the assumption that taking pride in one’s own country too much without considering others tend to be b iased and prejudiced. To exemplify, the American Museum of war not only displays the victory of America over other enemies, but also records the failures over Vietnam through some pictures. Citizens of the United States, then, would be more aware of their country ’s strengths and weaknesses, instead of blindly believing that American is the best nation in the world. Clearly, foreign works of art are indispensable in all museums and art galleries. In conclusion, exhibiting relics of o wn’s own country could be beneficial in the short term. However, I hold my firm conviction that in the long run, also adopting works from other nations would provide more multi-faceted insights into our culture and history.