Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are many ways to educate students on social responsibilities. One of these ways is to encourage students to voluntarily serve their communities. Some people even suggest that this activity should be mandatory and without compensation for high school students. While I concede that doing unpaid service for the community may be beneficial for students ' learning, I strongly disagree with this suggestion. Admittedly, doing pro-bono work may have some benefits. One of them is that community service helps high school students to develop a culture of giving. When these students contribute to their communities without being paid, they may find that donating some of their time and efforts to the communal betterment is not difficult and is in fact worthwhile. As a result, these high school students may keep donating even after their graduation. To exemplify this point, in my high school, a friend of mine participated in mentoring passionate Computer Science students in other under-funded high schools in his neighborhood. He, now a fourth-year college student, is still doing this work without any compensation. However, community service should not be a mandatory part of high school curricula because many high school students have other more important obligations that prevent these students from serving their community. The Ancient Romans said that "Charity begins at home," and similarly many high school students are asked to help their parents out by doing housework or having a part-time job. For example, many economically disadvantaged students in rural parts of Vietnam have to work on their families' farms after school. It would not be sensible to ask these students to do unpaid service for the community. Another obligation that many high school students need and want to fulfill is the academic one. Academic excellence is something most students strive for because it could open the door to a top quality university and possibly to a lucrative career. As these students prioritize this academic goal, they would not use their best abilities to work for the community when these students were assigned community service by their high school programs. To conclude, pro-bono service should not be required by high school curricula even when this type of service is beneficial for students.