Some people believe that professional sportsmen and women are paid too much money nowadays in relation to their usefulness to society. Do you agree or disagree?

In the modern world, it is considered that top athletic stars have an extremely large income and this profit is not associated with their contribution to society. Whether that is true or not, I will try to find out in this essay. To begin with, there are a lot of reasons why the average salary of top sportsmen and women are several orders of magnitude higher than the average salary of ordinary people. The first and the main reason is that the sportsmen and women spend the best part of their life to achieve a significantly high level in their sports. Severe injuries often come up in the path of glory. And far not all people who begin to go on this way eventually will be able to end it. All of us are delighted by the champions' life stories that are widely broadcast on social media, but the stories of people who were forced to stop their sports careers as the result of trauma have equal importance. On the other hand, high income in some sports is relatively associated with audience interest in certain sports. For example, if we compared the champions prize money in ping pong and tennis, we would find out that the grand prize in tennis covered several tens million American dollars, but in table tennis it is only 100000-150000$. Such a huge difference could be explained only by the different public interests between these two sports and moreover various media coverage. In conclusion, although champions salaries in top-popular sports remain utterly high, in my opinion, their income level is more related to interest in the media rather than their contribution to society.