Many criminals commit further crimes as soon as they released from prison. What do you think are the causes of this? What possible solutions can you suggest.

With the stigma surrounding an offender, it is very difficult for them to find housing and jobs, and it is because of this unacceptance in society, that they tend to fall into bad habits and commit further crimes. In this essay, we shall look into the possible reasons for this and try to establish solutions to combat this problem. First and foremost, we need to understand the why. In many cases, prisoners are incarcerated for many years, and on their release, the world has changed drastically so they find it difficult to get their bearings in the world. So to go back to normal they resort to their old habits which they are familiar with. Moreover, the awkwardness that society shows these individuals emits a negative feeling that they do not belong, so as they fall back into the crowds that accept them, which tend to be the same crowds that landed them in trouble. Now let us take a look at possible solutions. Well, for one, many prisons have inmate programs, which allow them to get educated, work in libraries, cook meals, and even carry out paid community service. For example, In Poojappura jail, located in the city of Trivandrum, there is a program that allows prisoners to prepare meals, and these meals are sold to the public. The main purpose of this is to give them some sense of purpose and also some skills that they can use once they are free. In America, many offenders are involved in paid community service which helps them to finance themselves once they are free. In conclusion, social stigma is something that will always be prevalent in society, especially against criminals. However, if they use the skills they develop positively, they will not only gain society's trust, but they will also not need to indulge in criminal activities again.