It is often thought that the increase in juvenile crime can be attributed to violence in the media. What do you think is the reason for a growth in the rate of juvenile crime? What solutions can be offer to deal with this situation.

There will always be a section of society linking crime amongst juveniles with violence in the media. However, I feel that while it plays a part, it is not the ultimate cause. In this essay, we shall look into the possible reasons for the upsurge in juvenile crimes and the possible solutions to try and curb this increase. First and foremost, let us look at the reasons for the growth. Whilst, violence in television programming does have a part to play, it is not the only cause. With the advancement of technology, many juveniles are equipped with smartphones, which have all sorts of applications for sharing videos, which can tend to spark anger amongst people. For example, Lakshadweep crisis, there was a video circulating on WhatsApp, of a Muslim youngster fatally shooting a Hindu female journalist. The fact of the matter was, no such event took place, and the whole idea of it was to create religious hatred amongst the Hindus and Muslims. Secondly, family problems play a major role in teens turning to violence, because hardened criminals prey on the weak-willed. Moreover, the lure of instant money is an added incentive, so that they can live independently. Lastly, the growing distribution of adult content online plays an important part in swaying a teenager's outlook on women. Now for some possible solutions. For starters, the government must ban the distribution and availability of adult and other content. They should spend more money to build up the infrastructure of the cities, so that the teenagers can spend time usefully, by engaging themselves in sporting activities. Furthermore, parents need to play their part and be involved in their child's life. Get to know more about their friends and the activities their children are involved in. Be more open to dialogue with their children, which helps build trust between them. In conclusion, whilst I feel the media does contribute a small portion, we have to remember there are other factors as well that contribute. Because only a portion of the kids are involved in these crimes, and to say the whole blame is to be put on the media would be a bit of a stretch.