Should education and healthcare be free of charge and funded by the government, or should it be the responsibility of the people?

In recent years, the issue related to welfare state has attracted the public’s attention. Some experts suggest that education and healthcare should be subsidised by authorities, while others oppose that citizens are responsible for services payment. This essay will discuss both views of this controversy. As for the first aspect, it is undeniable that social services are the basic right, promoting the economic and well-being of citizens such as medical aids and education. For example, The Affordable Care Act – known as Obamacare – aimed to provide affordable healthcare insurance coverage all Americans. Consequently, this measure can completely assure that people equally access to medical system. In addition, increasing the literacy rate in the country can mitigate the unemployment and poverty. Thus, the ministry can extol the virtue of education by providing funds. The USA Congress, for instance, subsidises underprivileged learners by giving financial aids in terms of scholarships and grants. Regarding to the second viewpoint, nowadays, many countries inevitably experience social inequality thanks to economic barriers and the regime management leading the social security to be postponed, particularly in developing countries. The clearest example of this issue is that students in Thailand were eliminated from schools and university since their parents struggled with financial difficulties owing to the Covid-19 pandemic. Furthermore, it is common to understand that the insurance fee has been continuously increasing, resulting in entering hospital are problematic for people belonging to lower-income groups. To conclude, even though there are sever issues, there are plentiful steps that government can take to minimize its results. Therefore, there factors could be noticeably changed by feasible approaches.