Some people believe that adults get motivated to exercise and play sports because of the major sports events such as the olympic games and the football worldcup. Others say that there are many ways apart from TV to encourage them to exercise. Discuss both views and give your opinion

It is considered by some people that broadcasting the major sports events, such as Olympic games and the football world cup encourages adults to indulge themselves in sports and exercise. However, other people think that there are better ways to fulfil this purpose. I am of the opinion that apart from TV, the focus should be turned to the other methods of motivation. On the one hand, it is thought by some that these huge sports events serve the purpose of motivating adults to exercise more often because of the concept of idealisation. Majority of the people tends to have their idols in their favourite teams, and hence, owing to their fantasy, they get encouraged by watching these shows, for example, a few of my cousins starts to exercise more often during the world cup season. Furthermore, it is frequently thought that the human psyche benefits more from visual lessons as compared to the verbal teachings. The concepts learned from images or videos are far clear and concise. To illustrate this, giving lectures to someone about exercise seems less interesting than providing them with some exciting clips of the major sports events. On the other hand, other people consider that the other methods of motivation for exercise are better than the above-mentioned ways and I agree. Firstly, watching these mega- events on the television is not considered healthy, because doing so, changes the sport from an outdoor to an indoor activity, hence promoting a sedentary lifestyle, and resulting in an increased risk of a number of serious issues, for example, obesity, heart attacks and strokes etc. Secondly, teenagers start strenuous exercises under the influence of these sportsmen, which could be detrimental, if done without supervision. Nowadays, good fitness trainers are available for guidance regarding this important issue. To illustrate the significance of this point, these fitness trainers should be hired, in order to teach the youngsters about keeping balance in their diet and exercise regimens. In conclusion, while these sports events are exciting, in my opinion, spending time in front of the television for motivation purposes regarding exercise, is not a wise decision and the other more healthy ways should be considered to fulfil this requirement.