It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Punishment is an offensive act on children when treated imprudently, but it can create a huge impact on a child's behaviour and moral ethics if it is being given only to teach them the proper lesson for their mistakes. Furthermore, childhood is an essential period for kids to discover this distinction between right or wrong through discipline. The essay will discuss my views on, how punishing children at an early stage plays a vital role in their life. Firstly, Punishing a child helps them realize that their decisions should be appropriate morally and they have to think twice before making a decision. It makes them follow the appropriate path which shapes their character. For example, a kid punished for disturbing his classmates during a class makes him/her realize that classroom is not a place for having fun but to learn, also disturbing classmates, distracts them from paying attention. Hence, they learn a lesson and act maturely the next time. Secondly, It guides them not to repeat the same mistake as they shall go through the punishment again. The value of good decision making is acknowledged and they tend to avoid wrongdoing. For instance, if a kid has been punished for behaving rudely with elders, and yet repeats it, he/she shall be punished again in order to make them understand that the number of times they repeat the mistake, they shall be punished as many times. However, few kids grasp this idea at the time of their first retribution and do not repeat it. In conclusion, punishing children in an early stage of life, for their mistakes is a righteous way to teach them a lesson and build their principles.