If countries are serious about solving traffic problems, they should tax private cars very heavily and use the money to provide free or very cheap rail travel. In what extent do you agree or disagree?

Most of the countries all over the world is experiencing pressing traffic issue which can be addressed or reduced by taking various actions and one of them is higher taxes on private vehicles. However, it can be one of the steps but there are many other practical solutions that can be implemented to control this problem in a long run. Firstly, imposing higher duty will not help to solve this affair for a longer period because people who can afford to buy cars can also afford to pay price or find a way to pay them. Secondly, higher gas prices and toll taxes can help to some extent. Furthermore, less production of cars can be useful too. Instead of punishing people, the government should focus on other methods to solve the issue. The government should provide education and awareness among the citizens to start using fewer private vehicles to commute, sharing the ride and creating special lanes for them. They should also focus on the infrastructure development for the public transit and highways, ring roads should be built by keeping traffic in mind for next few decades. Nevertheless, countries like India have implemented driving vehicles with odd or even number plates during certain days of the week to control the traffic. Lastly, countries should educate on health awareness of riding a bicycle and create special lanes for the bicycle riders. Authorities should give a discount or less tax for citizens who use public transit or ride-sharing. Moreover, companies should pick a different day of the week and allow employees to work from once a week. To summarise when there is a will then there is a way so we can certainly address this issue with the help of the authorities and help to make a better world to live in for generations to come.