Some people think that having a retirement age of 65 years is unfair. They believe that certain workers should retire earlier and get pension at an early age. Do you agree or disagree? Give examples

The best age for retirement is quite arguable and require a lot of discussions and thoughtful consideration in today's era. To retire at the age of 65 or earlier both have merits and demerits, but I opine that it should be a choice to be given to an individual after crossing certain age. Firstly, due to the increased cost of living, many people can not afford to retire early to meet their living expenses because the government pension and savings are not sufficient to survive. Secondly, much older populations like to remain active, and they enjoy interaction, socialization and working part-time at a later stage of their lives. Furthermore, they may feel lonely or depressed if they choose to stay home full-time. Moreover, research, innovations, improved medical treatment, health awareness and healthy diets have increased life span and so people can work extended years and can not afford to stay longer at homes with limited income. Nevertheless, by keeping the older population active, the government will have to spend less on old age or towards health care treatment so it would be a win, win situation for both. If workers retire earlier then it would be added pressure on the ministry spending and less experienced workforce in the market. Moreover, it would create a challenge for youngsters to penetrate the market. It is more likely that older people will die earlier before they can be eligible and benefit to get the ministry pension for the tax, they had contributed for most of their life if the authorities will keep increasing the retirement life. Overall, older people should be allowed to enjoy their later part since they have worked most of their life. To summarise, the authorities should keep options open for people to decide when do they want to retire and get a pension after a certain life and working for a certain number of years.