Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Other believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather that compete become more useful adults. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have varied opinions on whether children should be raised to be competitive; some suggest that doing so can be beneficial, and many believe society needs more individuals who are willing to work with others. In my opinion, to boost the chance of success, educators need to strike a balance between the two approaches. First of all, although competition can have a positive impact on a child’s development, there are drawbacks that cannot be neglected. It is true that healthy competition can strengthen a child’s motivation and boost their confidence. This point can be proved by young learners’ performance in class with competitive games: students are significantly more engaged and devoted when being asked to be more competitive. Also, with proper guidance, a young person can learn invaluable lessons from both success and failure. However, some kids might find this form of learning too stressful to perform well and lose the mentality to participate in such activities again, which, in the long run, could have irreversible harm to their development. Therefore, having children take part in competition could no doubt lead to enhancement in many areas, albeit with potential risks. Equally, teaching children to be cooperative may improve skills that the former measure does not cover, such as the ability to form and maintain relationships, share ideas, and help others. Needless to say, these precious qualities can have a profound influence on one’s career in the future. For example, amiable and congenial people often get promotions faster than their peers. Furthermore, in an environment where collective effort is encouraged, children have more freedom to be themselves and explore their interests instead of being exposed to their weakest points. Thus, young people who grow up understanding the importance of collaboration might fit their social roles better. In conclusion, both zealous and generous attributes are vital to a person’s character, as both have their merits in society. That being said, children should be taught to recognise the value of uplifting others along with themselves, as there is strength in unity.