Nowadays people are working from home using computers and telephones. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development.

It is quite common to see an increasing number of people working from home recently. Both pros and cons can be seen in this behaviour. On one hand, it is convenient for people to do business at home. Firstly, it helps to save costs for both sides. For employees, they spend less money once used on going to and getting off from work. Employers could also invest less in real property, expenditure on water and electricity thus earning more benefits. Secondly, staying at home prevents people from being infected by epidemics. For example, most people have been asked to work at home due to the widespread of the COVID-19 virus. Finally, fewer people driving to work means a possible relief from traffic congestions, which is one of the most difficult problems in modern cities. On the other hand, some negative influences could be found as well. Working efficiency is possibly be affected by working separately. Staff tend to be interrupted by family issues or distracted by their children easily and there isn't a concentrated working environment for them. Furthermore, online meetings or group work could be hindered by the weak signal or no electrical power, which are all conditions people have nothing to do with. Lastly, workers may lose the balance between work and life in such circumstances. For instance, they spend time working in front of the desk which could later be used for meals. When they are eating, they can't help reminding themselves of some issues related to work. In conclusion, when talking about working-at- home behaviour, many aspects should be considered and both advantages and disadvantages could be seen.