Some countries are struggling with increases in crime rates. Some believed that having more police on the streets is the best way to reduce and combat crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays crime is increasing with each passing day. Some people believe that one way of eradicating crime is if we have more police on-road and streets. I partially agree with it as there are some other ways too to reduce the crime rate. Therefore, we will be discussing some ideas. Firstly, It is a good idea to have more cops on the streets if we want to decrease the crime rate which will somehow create fear in minds of criminals as cops work is to reduce and stop crime as well as maintain the safety and security of cities and ways. For example in India when a person has not followed the rules of driving while he is driving a vehicle so as soon as he sees a policeman standing for checking, he gets afraid and so tries to run away because he knows that if he catches him he will have to pay fine and can also be given punishment according to law. So, fear comes in the mind of culprits as they see cops so it is necessary to have cops on roads especially at night. Another way of declining crimes should be strict laws and implementation of those laws at once. If we will be having severe laws so the offender will get afraid of implementing those crimes. An example of it can be rapes cases in our country India as we can see that Delhi Capital of India is considered as rape capital. Moreover, In other states also too many cases are there. In India,daily we heard thousand of cases of rapes but do we know why is there is no control over this crime. The answer is because our law on rape is so weak and steady that culprits do not fear as they know criminals who have raped a girl 12 years before are still alive and some are roaming free as they have a connection with politicians. They too will also be free after a few years of prison. However, countries like Saudi Arabia hangs the culprit within 2 days of his crime so the percentage of rape is least there. At, last I just want to conclude my essay by saying that it keeping cops on roads and streets is a way of eradicating and stopping crime but one major way is to make some strict laws and implement them as soon as possible.