Some people think that sports play an important role in the development of society. Others think this is nothing more than a leisure activity. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The issue of whether sports have hugely impacted our society has become increasingly unpopular to a certain demographic. These people believe that sports are simply recreational. However, some would argue that sports is not only necessary, but it is also influential on certain aspects of our lives. I completely agree with the latter notion, and will elaborate my opinions in the essay below. On the one hand, some contend that athletics are a form of entertainment that should not be taken seriously. It is a reasonable assumption for those who do not practice sports regularly, because they do not possess as much passion for physical activities as professional athletes, rather, these people have other pursuits. Therefore, this group of unenthusiastic people would view sports as a subject of less significance among other things. On the contrary, some people will persist that sports have influenced society on a number of aspects, financially, culturally and even affecting our health. It is undeniable that ever since the development of technology, people have been exercising a lot more than in the past, both physical and non-physical sports. Thus, our physical and mental health have been improved to some extent thanks to sports. Moreover, we now have big scale competitions to gather all participants from different parts of the world. This can potentially strengthen the relationship between nations, through means of sportsmanship and healthy competitiveness. On an economic level, sports, particularly those in the physical category, have always been a profitable market, consequently boosting the financial status of many nations. Mentionably, sports enables related industries to thrive as well. Sports events create opportunities for corporations which sell products that not only cater to sports fans, but also satisfy the non-fans by promoting interesting media content. Furthermore, hosting countries for these important events has proved to be lucrative. Brazil, for instance, hosted the 2016 Olympics, receiving a massive influx of international tourists in the process. Through all aforementioned reasons, it is safe to assume that sports can effectively contribute to a country's economic success. In conclusion, I agree with the idea that sports are not just activities to bring pleasure. They also bring major step ups in people ’s well being and help society to grow.