People are encouraged to get rid of things in order to get the news of fashion and the latest technology. Do The disadvantages of a throwaway society outweigh The economic advantages?

It is irrefutablet that consumerism is increasing these days due to fast paced modifications done in the products, such as domestic, clothing and electronic gadgets. In this essay, I will discuss both pros and cons of this attitude, however in my opinion there are more drawbacks to consider as it has a impact on our environment and life. Looking at the positive side, due to the consumerism, the mass production of the goods is increasing which is causing more employment for the citizens and this would be a major factor for the decline in poverty. And also more options for the consumers. Take cellphones as an example, first there was only small nokia phone now there is a variety such as samsung and apple. This all is genrating a revenue for the nation which would be responsible for the development of the nation. However, disadvantages are more detrimental and should be taken into account, which includes the waste collection and imbalance between personal and professional life. This use-and-throw culture is the main factor for the garbage since it can not be recycled. the whole waste is just dumped into landfills or the sea and this would be the way for water pollution especially affecting the marine life. Thus, disturbing the ecosystem. Another negative development to consider is the desire of people to acheive everything as people are becoming materialistic. In order to fulfill their desires they are becoming workaholic, this not only affects their health but also their personal life. In conclusion, despite the advantages such as revenue and employment, the downside is more deleterious as it affects the life of an individual as well as the environment.