Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience. Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

One of the most conspicuous trends among today's students is taking a year off for travelling or working before commencing tertiary education. Some people thịnk that this is a waste of time while others believe that this has many benefits. In my opinion, I completely agree that taking a gap year is an intelligent decision if we can use the time effectively on gaining some life and work experience. The first benefit of taking a gap year is that you can use this time to gain new skills by working for some small company or doing a small start-up. By working, you can learn and improve some 4.0 required essential skills such as teamwork skills, communication skills, time management, p roblem solving skills, etc. These skills might help students excel in their academic study or even in their working environment in the future. Besides, working is the best way to help people gain work experience that may help them in their career later. Furthermore, for some underprivileged students, working is a chance that helps them save some money for their study tuition in the future. Secondly, when having a year break, students will have more time to find out and understand more about themselves and become more mature. If students spend time o n t rying new things or working, they will have more opportunities to learn and self-reflect about their strengths, weaknesses, and life purpose. Understanding oneself is hard, but when a person can do it, they will know what they want to do or what they want to study and then they will be able to choose the right school. Another benefit of g ap year is that students can have time to learn new knowledge. Through travelling, a person can learn more about history, local culture, people of a country…. or even improve their English skills (If they travel to English using country). Besides travelling, they can use gap time to take part in short online courses in order to broaden their mindset. Finally, some hardworking students can use this gap year as a time to relax after hard studying time. Studying is hard, pressure and it requires a large amount of g ray matter, which can cause stress to students ' minds. Therefore, they can make use of the time to reduce their stress, improve their mental and physical health in order to prepare for a new challenge study time ahead. Moreover, they can also spend more quality time with close people to strengthen their relationships bond in return for the busy study period before. In conclusion, taking a gap year is a good idea since it helps us gain more work-life experiences, but only when you use the time effectively.