Some commentators feel that grandparents should live together with their children and grandchildren, while others say that older people should be encouraged to live independently. Consider the possible arguments on both sides of this debate, and reach your own conclusion.

In our modern world nowadays, life expectancy has increased dramatically posing a social challenge for society. While some socialists believe that elderly people should live with their families; others, however, consider this step is not preferable. They argue that many of them need special care and they have to stay in special buildings equipped for providing basic health facilities for them. As a starting point, In many communities grandparents tend to live with their offspring making considerable contributions to their families. Firstly, they help with raising children passing their wisdom and knowledge to the next generation. Secondly, a lot of families in our community are basically dual-income which means that both the mother and father have full-time jobs. Consequently, the grandparents play an important role by taking care of their grandchildren compensating for the absence of both parents. However, many specialists are concerned as they consider the senior citizens are initially needed to take care of them and not the opposite. On the other hand, a lot of experts entice older people to live in their own homes or any special facility. They reckon that could help them to be out of stress which could be beneficial for them to be healthier. Additionally, living in a special care centre could help to take care of the elderly people and will make them socialise with their counterparts. In my perspective, I strongly advocate that grandparents should share the same house with their children as this will create a healthy environment for all members of the family. In conclusion, demographic ageing change has emerged in our society reflecting our development. This situation is ripe with benefits for us to live with our grandparents and educate a lot of invaluable information from them rather than living in small families struggling to cope with the immense challenges they face without any support.