With an increasing population communicating via internet and text messaging, face to face communication will become a thing of the past. To what extend do you agree?

With the advancement of technology and the internet, more and more of the youth are conversing on the internet, text messaging and other forms, which results in a slow decline in face to face conversations. I agree with the notion and will substantiate my reasoning in the course of this essay. For starters, communicating over the internet has become the new norm, not only in social life but also in the professional world as well. This is because these modes are always easier and do not depend on people being available at the same time. For example, in my last company, it was easier for employees to hold virtual meetings with each other, even though they were all in the same office, rather than meeting each other face to face, because you do not need to check everyone's calendar, and everyone can be sitting at their desks and attend the meeting, whilst going on with their normal day to day activities. The drawback of this is that people lose touch with others, building trust becomes very difficult between various teams and team members. For example, in my last job, I was working as a travel consultant for a corporate company. As a travel consultant, there will always be dire situations that need to be responded to on an urgent basis. However, as per the corporate's policy, we were never able to do a single act, without any mail communication, because if we didn't have it, none of our invoices would be processed. So, even though we were working for the same cause, and sitting in the same locations, there was no trust established between the teams. In conclusion, I believe face to face communication is slowly becoming a thing of the past, with the advancements in technology. However, it is important to know that face to face communication is important, not only in the sense of passing on a message but also to be connected to people in the outside world.