There is an increasing trend around the world to have a small family rather than a large family. What are the advantages of having a small family rather than a large family?

In the twenty century, the number of nuclear families outnumbers the number of extended families, as a result of the tendency to smaller families. Being a member of this families has several positive points that will be discussed in this essay. As far as the merit of the nuclear family is concerned, this goes without saying that, the expenditure of the small family is greatly lower than the large one. For instance, the expenses of a five-member family are averagely between $4000 and $6000, per month. In oppose to, a family with three members which their outgoing is half of this amount. What is more, a larger family need bigger accommodation too, therefore a major part of families ’ salary belongs to rent. Consequently, substantial problems such as control of monthly expenditure, debts and mortgages are faced with family. These are reasons for the blooming trend to smaller families. The stable upbringing of children is a demanding and time-consuming process. The parent in a large family is busy with household duties. At this rate, as a result of a hectic lifestyle, parents are not able to set a time to spend with their children. Furthermore, the psychological needs of the child, for example, receiving proper attention are not met, and this issue will cause some behavioural problems. By contrast, parents in small families have plenty of time to devote to their kids. For instance, they can read more books about having an active role in the relationship with the child. To conclude, as an implication of higher expenses in an extended family also the need to spend time to upbringing the normal children (physically and mentally), there is a growing tendency to have one or two children. I strongly opine that, the small family will benefit both, children and family, also, will help to have a society which people have normal personality.