Some universities offer online courses as an alternative to classes delivered on campus. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

These days, there are several educational institutions whose online courses aim to alter face-to-face learning methods. Personally, this might also include both benefits and drawbacks that I will present in the following essay. On the one hand, studying online will have a number of advantages for learners during learning progress. Firstly, in terms of geographic distances, students could enrol in prestigious foreign universities whereas they do not need to go abroad. Therefore, those learners will be able to broaden their horizons regardless of where they come from as the convenience of online tertiary education. Secondly, they also do not need to care much about expenses related to renting houses or flight tickets, which help them to save a huge amount of money. Students, whose families often face financial burdens in daily life, could continue to pursue their dreams and enhance their career prospects. On the other hand, besides positive effects, online courses might be a poor substitute for traditional classes delivered at universities. These courses do not offer learners face-to-face interaction which is still important to their understanding of the lessons. In addition, this type of learning does not allow discussions between classmates either, and without peer support, students ’ learning outcomes might be affected in an undesirable way. Furthermore, as a lot of self-discipline is required and there are so many distractions from the Internet while studying from an online website, students are more likely to procrastinate. This also contributes to lower results as students may tend to lose focus during the online lessons. In conclusion, having online courses available to choose from while at university benefits students in a number of ways. However, their drawbacks in terms of decreased learning outcomes should be accounted for.