E-mail has had a huge impact on professional and social communication, but this impact has been negative as well as positive. Do the disadvantages of using e-mail outweigh the advantages?

In recent years, E-mail has had a huge influence on social communications and transferring of important information through a digital device. As technology continues to develop, the consequences of its usage also have arisen. This essay will discuss both the benefits and drawbacks of using online messengers. First and foremost, one of the main positive impacts is convenience. While face-to-face communication can be rather difficult for some situations, using E-mail to exchange knowledge and discuss can be extremely helpful and time-saving because the sender and receiver of the message does not need to meet up in real life. Therefore, this can assist people from spending money on travel and destination of the meeting. For example, business managers, acting as a mailer, will not need to travel to a different country to talk with other individuals. Moreover, using E-mail as a medium of communication allows the content of the message to be recorded, where people can refer back to the original copy of the article. This will not only prevent any miscommunication and distortion of the information but also prevent any arguments that can occur between a person. However, despite the advantages of using E-mail, there are also many issues arising from the usage of digital communication. Firstly, although E-mail provides a wide range of good points, it can make the exchange of facial expressions and emotions very tough. Since this method of communication is in a written format, the mailer of the message may not know how satisfied or unsatisfied the readers are with the message. Thus, there could be possible arguments, causing stressfulness and strains on relationships. Furthermore, this medium can discourage communities from seeking deeper connections and better relationships because people may feel that it is pointless to strike a conversation when a significant text message can directly be sent to someone without the need of small talk. Due to this, team-working and coordination can fail. In some cases, colleagues may not talk to one another in a real life setting unless it is important.