With the development of online communication, people will never be alone and will always be able to make new friends. To what extent do you agree?

With the advancement of technology and the internet, more and more people are conversing on the internet for social purposes, both with national and international citizens. However, this does not mean that they will always make friends. I disagree with this notion and will substantiate my reasoning in the course o this essay. On one hand, with the internet, we can communicate with anyone and everyone from our homes, with the click of a button. Applications such as Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, WhatsApp and many more, can create a huge following of people with whom we can communicate online. We can post videos about our lives, our workout routines, even talk about our families all for a couple of people to like and subscribe to our profiles and channels. This helps many people feel confident, that they have many friends. However, one thing we have to understand is that online friends, don't constitute real friends. This is because they are mainly there when everything is rosy. A friend is someone whom you can count on, on any given day of the week with whom you can share your innermost secrets and fears and who will always have your back. Unfortunately, with the rise of many online applications, people seem to forget this basic concept of what a friend means. In conclusion, I disagree with the premise, that online communication will make people feel less lonely. I feel the opposite because there will always come a time when they realise, their online friends don't care about them anymore as they are not the newest kid on the block. Therefore, whilst I believe having online friends is a nice thing to have, people, need to have real relationships so as not to be alone.