Art classes, like painting and drawing, are not as important as other subjects, so some people think that it should not be a compulsory subject at high school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that the art courses, such as painting and drawing, are not necessary to take in high school, and ought to be removed from the school curriculum. In my opinion, I think art classes are essential to the high school students. With regard to the high school curriculum, it provides wide range of the subjects which allows students to acquire different academic knowledge, and explore the potential abilities by themselves. As the place for discovering the future career, the extra curriculum is more required in the school campus. In addition, I believe that making artwork is the effective method to express the personal feelings, especially for the younger. With progressing in the stage of puberty, students need to find the way of expressing their individual thoughts. Furthermore, some of them feel relieved from the school works and even improve their academic performance better. On the other hand, there is a direct relation between the skills learned from art lessons and the way of viewing the issues and problems. For instance, sketching learners try to observe the specified object in different dimensions, which reflect to the objective perspectives towards the social issues as well as the personal problems. Moreover, students develop their sense of beauty into more distinctive if learning arts consistently. To conclude, taking art lessons is beneficial to the students while it is not a compulsory subject in high school, it offers not only the portraying skills but the mental aspects of the knowledge. Therefore, art courses should not be removed from the high school curriculum.