Government funding in the arts such as music and theatre is a waste of money. Government must use these funds for public welfare instead

Whether states should allocate funds for creative fields such as art, music, theatre, and sculpture, has been an issue on which there has been considerable debate. Opponents hold that such funding is a step in the wrong direction, and that these funds should be used for public welfare schemes. I personally believe that arts is an inseparable part of human existence and thus, it should be supported in any way possible. To begin with, a society that supports and produces art becomes known for its creativity all over the world. Such countries attract tourists who visit the myriad centres of attraction, contributing to the national economy. In fact, there are multiple secondary industries that depend on tourism and flourish with it. A case in point is the Louvre in Paris, where thousands flock every year to view its artefacts. This influx supports the hotel and restaurant industries as well and helps the overall economy in general. Another example is that of the Taj Mahal in India. This beautiful monument attracts thousands of local and foreign visitors throughout the year. Second, the industries that are related to art generate employment opportunities for millions worldwide. For instance, Mumbai in India has a thriving film industry that supports hundreds of people who work directly or indirectly in movies. Similarly, the forts of the Indian state of Rajasthan draw thousands of visitors from around the globe and this tourism has been a source of livelihood for tourist guides, shopkeepers, hotel owners, taxi drivers etc. for many decades now. In addition, a connection with the arts will give the citizens of a nation a sense of identity and connection to their roots. This helps in a big way to connect people from diverse background within and outside the country. That said however, public services always come first for a nation and thus, cannot be neglected in favour of arts. However, there is always a possibility to develop arts along with public welfare simultaneously. To sum up, arts have benefits that outweigh their demerits and thus should be supported by governments of nations.