The private car has greatly improved individual freedom of movement and has become a status symbol for many people. Yet the use of private cars has contributed to some of today's most serious problems. How can the use of private cars be reduced?

Nowadays, privately owned cars have become more common in our society, not only because they allow us to travel around conveniently, but also show our financial position. However, the increase in the usage of private vehicles has produced a lot of negative influences on the environment, to the point where an alert from nature has appeared for people to reduce the use of private cars. One obvious solution would be encouraging people to use public transport. Government can improve the public transport system. As people usually use private autos to have a comfortable condition to go around, if the transportation system is improved and is cosier, more people would reduce using their own vehicles. For example, the public transport system in Hong Kong is well-developed and reliable, so a high percentage of citizens choose to use it. Furthermore, the government can introduce some schemes to lower the price of public transport, which can attract people facing high fuel tax and insurance premiums. Undoubtedly, increasing the price of fuel is one of the methods to reduce the use of private cars. As the cost of using a car becomes more expensive than before, people will think more carefully when purchasing a vehicle. Another possibility is minimizing the number of parking spaces. If people find that it is hard to settle their automobiles, the use of it would therefore decrease. In conclusion, the need for us to stop using private vehicles is obvious. However, these methods are unlikely to affect the riches using their cars. Nevertheless, reducing the vast number of cars on the road will help pollution, which gives us a healthier life.