Many adults nowadays prefer spending their free time playing computer games. Why do they do this? Is this a positive or negative development?

Many adults today would rather play computers games than do other activities to kill their free time. Hence, this essay will give a reasonable answer to why they do this and why it is a negative development. Firstly, most people prefer to play computer games in their leisure because they can provide the same thrill and excitement as outdoor games. Therefore, it is pretty apparent that playing computer games is convenient for almost everyone who would be bothered to do outdoor activities that cost money, time, and effort. For example, although a pitch would be needed to play baseball, most adults would play virtual baseball games online as it does not require a physical place. However, though it is a sign of the fast-paced advanced technology, I believe this is a negative development. Since games could draw humans away from proper communication and relationships, this could negatively impact one's social life. For instance, instead of playing games in front of the small screen alone, people could have spent their free time in friendly chit-chat with their loved ones, making them closer. Furthermore, computer games occupying all of the free time can make one stray away from self-development. In other words, humans should spend their day for both fun and something worthwhile, such as reading more books and watching movies. To conclude, most adults play computer games as they are too convenient to make them forget to give time to their family and self-progresses. Thus, most people spending free time on computer games should be considered a negative development.