Many students are taught to push themselves to try and be better than other students, rather than work together for everyone’s benefits. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Learning is a continuous process, whether it can be done individually or alone. Disciples get knowledge from many sources such as the internet, teachers or their elderly people at home. These days they are trying to prove themselves superior to others instead of showing cooperation. It has many benefits as well as drawbacks, which I'll discuss in the following deliberation. In this era of competition, if students try to make themselves better as compared to others, it shows their own ability to become leaders in many. Now, everyone is indulged in the rat race of getting better day by day to reach a particular position, which is only possible by competing. Furthermore, from school time our mentors teach us about having a good position in the class, where the ultimate goal is to be at the peak. The harsh reality of this world is, they only consider and give priority to those on special designations, not the ordinary ones. For example, in India, Mr Tata is the top industrialist and has a very good reputation in society. He's being interviewed by many although he deserves this, an ordinary businessman cannot expect this. So to secure a good place, a person must have a spark in him or her. On the paradoxical side, many others believe that people are becoming selfish as they just want their work to be done by hook or by crook. They even do not think about what is ethical and what is not. For example, two students fighting for getting a single scholarship might harm each other either physically or mentally. Moreover, having a motive of leaving everyone on the back and taking advantage alone, can also separate an individual from others. This approach will not work long term and it will result in loneliness. To conclude, there are more advantages which outshine disadvantages. As per my perception, it is the need of the hour to have more resources than others. Everyone should grab a chance to become better, by being within their limits.