People can live and work anywhere they want to choose, because of improved communication technology and transport. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Advanced online communication and commuting technology allow humans to have more options for our workplace and home. We, humans, are born and evolved to create new technology and adapt to constant changes. We invented rails, cars,... then we constantly enhance them to high speed for easier commuting between places. We invented the internet and dozens of communication applications, and we could have online meetings instead of traditional face-to-face meetings. Our lives are ways easier than before with modern technology. We are now living in a time of the global pandemic. This Covid-19 disease spreading worldwide makes us all re-think, re-arrange how we want to live and work. Companies worldwide enable the "working from home" scheme for more or less than two years to limit contagion. Employees do not go to the traditional workplace, instead, are required to work remotely with just a computer and internet. Is the "working from home" scheme as efficient as the centralized work scheme? It has been a dispute lately over this topic. Many companies have been conducting reports and said that their employee's productivity remains intact and even goes up in some cases. Truthfully, many global organizations have been switching to the "Flexible working" scheme, in which, employees can choose remote work or go to the office any time of their choice. And many people are happier with this scheme. No more long hours commuting from suburban to the city, no more traffic hours, we save that commuting time to spend with our family or have some time of the day for exercising instead of sitting on car seats, trains for hours or maybe others hobbies. Long before came the pandemic, the term “digital nomad” appeared and since then, it has been a new trend among young, travel-addicted people. Many young people Gen Y (born 1980-1996) and Gen Z (born 1997 onwards) have loved the idea of exploring the world, discovering as many places as they could. To keep that idea realistic, the "digital nomad" look for remoted jobs such as marketing online, writing,… or even online therapist, which enabled them to work anywhere in the world. As long as they submit their deadline on time and join the online meetings when required, guarantee their work productivity, managers and employers find the trend suitable for their organization. Furthermore, when needed, they could just jump in on a plane or high-speed train to go to the required place. Though there might be some hardships while they usually are not in any face-to-face meeting or different time zone might limit people interaction but those are some trade-offs for those “digital nomads” to have their dreams come true with a sufficient income. In conclusion, modern technologies have changed our lives forever and given us more freedom in what we want to do. Reportedly, emotionally and physically fulfilled employees have better productivity. After all, Should productivity be what we prioritize? Why does it matter where we work if we could just get our work done with help of technology?