Many of the world’s cities are currently facing a serious housing shortage. What are some of the reasons for this shortage and what solutions can you suggest? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your experience.

In our world nowadays, the concentration of the population in our urbanized areas is extremely high compared to rural regions. As a consequence, our towns suffer from finding space to provide new houses for their residents. There are several reasons for this debacle as we will discuss. Firstly, the major factor in this problem is the proximity of the facilities such as schools and hospitals in our cities which entice more people to dwell nearby. Consequently, more individuals migrate from their villages to reside in the cities exacerbating the issue of depopulation in rural areas. As a result, the demand for properties in our urban towns has increased dramatically although the increase in their prices. Secondly. many banks provide financial facilities to their customers to purchase a house in the city by an instalment plan in a long period through a mortgage however this option is not available to the countryside dwellers. There are many solutions to this dilemma however the most important step is the redistribution of the population in spacious distances rather than cramping in our cities. Not only this move will address the housing problem in our towns but also will resolve the lack of residents in isolated places. Certainly, this demographic change needs huge efforts from the authorities to equip those places with the needed facilities to encourage more citizens to reside there. In addition to that, officials should introduce incentives for individuals who are willing to live there such as cuts from their bills and taxes. In conclusion, the demographic change in our planet imposes a challenge for providing more houses for people heading towards the urban districts notwithstanding, this problem alleviates depopulation issue in the countryside. So the remedy is the better management of this crisis by providing amenities across the whole country and enticing more people to settle in deserted places.