We live in a world of technology these days. While the internet brings with it clear advantages, the problems in terms of control and security of information outweighs the advantages. To what extent do you agree?

The advancement of technology and the internet has made our lives much easier, both regarding our personal and professional lives. However, the control and security of the information on the internet are always susceptible to corruption. In this regard, I agree that the disadvantages outweigh the advantages, and this is what we shall see in this essay. First and foremost, let us dive into the discussion of the problems it can create. The most obvious worry is the unlimited and unregulated amount of adult content online. This can not only get youngsters hooked, but it can also skew their conceptions towards the opposite sex. In addition, online gaming which doesn't have any age restrictions can bring rise to another addiction, which if not controlled, can cause financial ruin. For example, in Trivandrum, at the initial stages of the pandemic, many schools started online classes, which resulted in many parents introducing phones to their children. The complication that arose, was that many children started using the phones for unwanted activities, which resulted in many children committing suicide, because of the shame they were subjected to once their parents found out. Furthermore, cybercrime is becoming an increasing problem, not only for individuals who use the internet to carry out financial transactions but for major corporations as well. For example, a couple of months ago, Russian cyber gangs targeted major corporations demanding $70 million in Bitcoin. The added difficulty with cybercrime is that hackers have found ingenious ways to mask their identity so as not to get caught. The only thing that is known after 3 months of these attacks, is that the attackers are from Russia. Who they are and their exact location remains unknown. In conclusion, there is no doubt of the benefits the internet has brought mankind, but we cannot ignore the drawbacks of this advancement. Unfortunately, based on the current progress of the internet, it is safe to assume that these security issues will also be a long term problem.