Some people advocate the death penalty for those who committed violent crimes. Others say that capital punishment is unacceptable in contemporary society.Describe the advantages and disadvantages of the death penalty and give your opinion.

Crimes have become an integral part of everyone's life. A variety of crimes exist all over the world and people are of the opinion that the death penalty should be announced for heinous crimes committed by an individual in the court of law. In this essay, I partly agree with this statement as crimes should be distinguished and accordingly the punishment should be allocated. There has been quite a series of violent crimes committed which gives us goosebumps when we hear about it. The mentality of such people is such that they want to create a state of fear among others or want to let everyone know what they are capable of. For instance, a girl was gang-raped in a local train by fifteen men or a man killed his wife on the basis of the assumption that she was having an extra-marital affair with their neighbour. Such crimes should be taken into consideration and the immediate death penalty should be allocated as it would stop further crime in the country. However, there may be some crimes that are committed due to self-defence. There was an instance in India where a woman was assaulted by her husband and her in-laws on a daily basis with respect to dowry. The woman killed her husband in trying to protect herself from further assault. Hence, such crimes should not be considered violent and she should be given the benefit of the doubt for committing such a crime. The mental level of an individual is been hammered to take such a step towards crime. In conclusion, I would like to state that violent crimes may be committed but the reason behind committing those crimes should also be taken into consideration before advocating the death penalty. Also, people should be made aware of the consequence and the effect they would have mentally and physically on those who have been given death penalties without knowing the real facts behind it.