Many things which were done in the home by hand in the past are now done by machines. Does this development bring more advantages or disadvantages?

In modern society, it is ubiquitous to see that most of the household work, which used to be manually done in the past, is now performed by using a variety of home appliances. Despite the fact that this evolution might lead to some drawbacks such as excessive dependency on the machine or high energy cost, I believe that the benefits clearly dominate the disadvantages. On the one hand, applying machines to commit daily household tasks makes life easier and more pleasant. To be more specific, these appliances are much faster and more efficient to perform menial jobs compared to humans; therefore, applying such equipment to complete domestic work may not only save time but also contribute to the pleasure of the customers. Take the washing machine as an example, people are using the machine these days to wash their clothes, which takes only a few minutes to remove all the dust or dirt on a shirt or a dress. Before the advent of this electronic device, however, most people did that work by hand, which had taken a significant amount of time and labor. Besides, it is also noticeable that using machines in completing household tasks helps in improving the quality and accuracy of the products. To specify this, machines work is based on a fixed program so the steps involved can not be changed. As a result, final products will be exactly the same, which could be challenging to be achieved if the tasks were done by humans. On the other hand, using modern equipment in household work can lead to some potential problems namely the high cost and the dependency on the machines. Firstly, purchasing these machines can cost an arm and a leg as they might be using state-of-the-art technology. This, in turn, could adversely affect families with the budget of a common man. Another drawback is the fact that people are becoming more and more dependent on these machines, resulting in some potential health risks. To be more specific, people become habituated to a sedentary lifestyle as they get most of their work done by the appliances. Hence, they tend to do less physical movement, leading to the fact that fewer calories are burnt, causing a certain number of health problems. To sum up, I firmly believe that applying modern technology in completing household tasks is a great way to help people who are chasing the rat race. Caution, nevertheless, must be seriously taken into account as this can also be risky to appliers.