Governments should spend more on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In recent years, it has been increasingly common to see that governments are advised to invest more in the railway system rather than divert funds to improving the road transportation system. From my point of view, I would agree with this statement while I also think authorities should decide on whether to build more roads or railroads based on the area and the preference of citizens. On the one hand, it is understandable if some people opine that a government should expand more railroads rather than roads and streets. First of all, traveling by trains is considered to be much more rapid compared to cars or buses since trains run on their tracks that can not be disturbed by other vehicles. To be more specific, trains are allowed to operate at a high speed due to the fact that they are not affected by external factors such as traffic congestion or red lights. This, in turn, helps commuters to reach their destinations much faster than using cars or buses. Besides, by building more railway stations, traffic jams can be significantly avoided. Take Singapore as an example, the city has a newly-built train network called MRT allowing residents to travel to almost every corner of the city. As a result, Singapore is free from traffic congestion and air pollution. On the other hand, it is also essential for governments to do some researches before planning to upgrade the railway system. In some areas with swamps or mountains, specifically, if the government decides to build new railroads, the investment may be surprisingly high as they will have to demolish some rocky mountains and do the ground filling process. To illustrate this problem, in some provinces in the south of Vietnam, there are a large number of rivers and canals that prevent the campaign of installing some railway systems from being actualized. In conclusion, I firmly believe that a government, either in a developed or a developing country, should invest to build a safer, faster, and more reliable transportation system. Authorities, however, should also hold a referendum to decide whether to build more roads or railways so that the decision will not go wrong.