Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, it is ubiquitous to see that the majority of food and beverage companies incorporate high content of sugar to their products, as a result, the proportion of sugary food and drinks consumption tends to increase, which may lead to the fact that people are suffering from certain health problems. I firmly agree with the solution of alleviating the market price of these commodities, and the following paragraphs will present the reasons for my point of view. To begin with, implementing new policies on companies in increasing the price of sugary products might be one of the most effective methods to decrease the consumption of sugar since each family tends to have a limited budget in shopping. Families in Vietnam, specifically, usually make a certain list of products they should be buying in a month and also the budget for each item. Expensive commodities, therefore, may not be bought since families also have other products to purchase. This, in turn, will not only lessen the amount of consumed food and drinks but also encourage people to eat more healthily, which decrease the potential of suffering from obesity or diabetes. Besides, the fact that a brand levels up the costs of its products will be counterproductive. To be more specific, a more luxurious kind of high-sugar food can attract more buyers who are financially viable. Sugary food and drinks, as a result, may be spread and also get opportunities to have a wide-open to the bigger market. Coca-Cola, a famous beverage brand, for instance, has recently increased the price of some particular products like Fanta and Sprite. The brand, nevertheless, not only still attracts millions of customers but also promotes the products more widely to those who are wealthy. To sum up, I totally believe that increasing the price of sugary food and drinks is a good way of encouraging people to live healthily and promoting the brands. Caution, however, should be serious taken by both the authorities and the companies in order not to harm both the customers and the brands.