Some people think that the fictional violence portrayed on television is harmless entertainment. Others disagree and think that it encourages violent behaviour. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Fictional brutality illustrated on television and entertainment industry has been regarded as non-toxic by some people. On contrary, others are of the opinion that it leads to violent behavioral patterns in the society. I believe both the schools of thought have some merit in them. This essay aims to throw some light on the same. Entertainment and art are considered to be an escape from reality. Even if people enjoy an occasional brutal or violent movie, this does not mean they are going to mirror these practices in their real lives. For instance, Money Heist, a Spanish series on a violent robbery in a central bank, has become extremely popular on Netflix worldwide and its viewers are rational enough to watch such shows strictly for entertainment purposes. Having said that, they would not pursue such unethical endeavors as they know the consequences of such actions. Unfortunately, since the very beginning of time crimes have been integral part of our society. Even though brutality and unethical practices portrayed in movies can be seen as a reflection of society itself, it would be an undeniable fact that they influence the society by shaping impressionable minds. For example, a 5-year-old kid does not have a well-developed mind to know the difference between right and wrong and he might see violence as a normal behavior. Consequently, children might adopt these violent practices they see on television and perceive them to be normal. To conclude, it definitely depends on an adult person to interpret movies in a rational way but it is also important to protect young minds from such visuals. Moreover, if abundant precaution is not taken in this regard, the young and innocent children might grow up to commit crimes. Hence, a preventive approach towards this can prove to be quite helpful.