In some countries, there is not enough respect for elderly people. Why is this the case? Suggest some solutions.

In today’s world, it is surprisingly ubiquitous in several countries that there is a lack of respect towards the old. Despite the fact that there will undoubtedly be some negative root causes of this issue, it can be easily resolved by numerous solutions. The essay will discuss some causes and present my suggestions for the issue. There are numerous causes of this phenomenon, namely the lack of manner of the majority of young people and different perspectives in understanding what respect actually is. To begin with, some people are not properly educated at schools or by their parents at a young age due to the fact that they are living in dysfunctional families or might have dropped out of school. This, in turn, may form themselves into ill-mannered individuals with disrespectful behaviors, including the action of condescending, leading to the decline in admiration for elderly people. Another reason is that people are having different perspectives on the definition of respect. Take some Vietnamese people as an example, some people refer to the fact that the way to show respect to others is simply by saying “Hello” or “Goodbye” to them, whereas the others believe certain actions should be done to show respect such as being thankful or listening to the old. In fact, there is not a single accurate definition for being respect; therefore, a person would not know whether he or she was showing respect for elderly people or not. Despite the seriousness of this problem, there are a number of viable measures to help tackle it no matter if they come from the government or the citizens. The first thing to do is that government should organize several campaigns that require both the young and the old to take part in. This, in turn, may help to bridge the gap between generations, which might lead to an increase in respect for elderly people. By way of illustration, a great number of projects have been created by the Japanese authorities for all generations to get together, as a result, a recent study shows that the gap between the old and the young has considerably been lessened. Hence, elder admiration may gradually increase. Besides, residents can also help mitigate the trouble by talking more frequently with the old, starting from the ones who are their family members or relatives. By doing this, people will have the opportunities to get to know more about elderly people, understand their feelings to have a more appropriate attitude towards them. To sum up, I believe that there are several negative aspects to the decline in respect towards the old. The issue, nevertheless, can be effortlessly resolved if there is unity between authorities and communities.To sum up, I believe that there are several negative aspects to the decline in the respect towards the old. The issue, nevertheless, can be effortlessly resolved if there is unity between authorities and communities.